PWB Honors Three Outstanding Members

Filed in Awards, Committees and Councils, IBS by on January 24, 2017 0 Comments

From left: 2015 NAHB PWB Woman of the Year Carol Morgan , 2016 NAHB PWB Insinkerator Woman of the Year Jan Johnson, 2016 NAHB PWB Chair Cindy Cepko, and Dan Murphy, Director of National Accounts, InSinkErator

NAHB’s Professional Women in Building Council has recognized three women for their outstanding contributions to the council and to the industry. The awards were presented in Orlando Jan. 12 at the NAHB International Builders’ Show.

Jan Johnson of Garrett E. and Herschel E. Johnson Real Estate and Development in Belleville, Ill., was honored as NAHB PWB Insinkerator Woman of the Year for her dedication to promoting the efforts of women in building-related fields to contribute to and advocate for the industry.

From left: Judy Dinelle, NAHB PWB Region B Trustee, Tracy Butler, Executive Officer of the HBA of Greater Southwest Illinois and Cepko.

Tracy Butler, EO of the HBA of Greater Southwest Illinois, was honored as NAHB Executive Officer of the Year.

Butler and Johnson worked hand in hand to launch the local PWB council. Butler, recognizing Johnson’s leadership qualities, nominated her to be its first chair in 2014. Together, they have recruited 24 members to the council, which has quickly made its mark.

One of the first initiatives that Johnson and Butler established was a $500 annual scholarship for young women pursuing a career in the building industry. Fundraisers, including lunches with local mayors, were so successful that the council has given two scholarships in each of the past two years.

“Jan and Tracy’s combined vision and direction helped launch a strong and effective local PWB, the crucial basis for our national efforts,” said Cindy Cepko, CGP, CMP, MIRM, Master CSP, co-owner of Granite Homes Inc. in Paupack, Pa., and chair of the NAHB PWB Council. “We especially applaud their efforts to encourage the next generation of women in building.”

Johnson chaired the NAHB PWB Legislative Committee in 2016 and serves on the NAHB board of directors. She is also a director of the state HBA, and works to keep the industry’s issues in front of legislators by regularly attending the annual state lobby day.

Butler has served as an area trustee for the national PWB and has attended many of its meetings and events, where she has lent her support and guidance to other locals.

2015 NAHB PWB Member of the Year Annemarie Mitchell, Cindy Cepko, 2016 NAHB PWB Wells Fargo Member of the Year Sherry Schwab and Kelly Zuccarelli, Wells Fargo Home Mortgage.

Sherry Schwab, president of HSC Construction Services in Bellevue, Wash., was honored as NAHB PWB Wells Fargo Member of the Year. She was instrumental in the formation of her local PWB council and continues to sustain and recruit new members.

Schwab has long been active with her state HBA’s legislative policy committee. In the coming year, as chair, she will continue her work facilitating meetings with state and national elected officials to advocate for the industry.

Schwab is the first woman to serve as NAHB Chairman for Area 15. She has served on the NAHB executive committee for almost 20 years and chaired its membership committee. She has shared her knowledge in adaptive renovation practices as a subject matter expert in developing NAHB Certified-Aging-in-Place designation courses.

“Sherry elevates everything she does with a can-do and will-do attitude,” said Cepko. “Her passion for the PWB and desire to see others in the industry succeed inspire those around her.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *