NAHB Recognizes Leaders in Residential Construction Safety

NAHB named 14 winners for the 11th annual NAHB/Builders Mutual Insurance Company Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE) for their commitment to strong safety programs. The winners were recognized at the SAFE reception held during the International Builders’ Show in Orlando.

The awards recognize member companies, workers and other individuals for the excellent safety programs that make them leaders in the residential construction industry.

“It gives me great pleasure to recognize the recipients of this year’s SAFE awards,” said NAHB Construction, Safety and Health Committee Chairman Carl Harris, a builder and the co-founder of Carl Harris Co. Inc. from Wichita, Kansas. “Safety is no longer an afterthought in our industry. Our employees and our reputations are too valuable to put at risk. Safety should be in forefront of every project, from budget through completion, and we wish to recognize those individuals and companies that have demonstrated a commitment to safety above and beyond the industry standard.”

NAHB Safety Professional of the Year

Jeff Palumbo, Shea Homes, Colorado

Remodeler Safety Program of the Year

Irons Brothers Construction, Inc., Seattle

Single-Family Builders Safety Program of the Year

Rinaldi Builders LLC, Madisonville, La.

Summit Custom Homes, Lees Summit, Mo.

Shea Homes

Multifamily Safety Program of the Year 

Andres Construction LLC, Dallas

Innovative Safety Program/Idea of the Year

NterNow, Marietta, Ga.

NAHB-Affiliated Association Safety Program of the Year

HBA of Metro Denver

Associate Member Safety Program of the Year

Iacoboni Site Specialists Inc., Baltimore

Judges Special Recognition Award

Habitat for Humanity International, Americus, Ga.

Federal/State Plan OSHA Official of the Year

Chad D. Vivian, Englewood, Colo.

NAHB Student Chapter Safety Program of the Year – High Schools/Career Technical

Shadow Ridge High School, Surprise, Colo.

NAHB Student Chapter Safety Program of the Year – Colleges/Universities

State University of New York at Delhi

Leadership in Construction Safety Award

Don Pratt, Construction Education & Consulting Services, Auburn Hills, Mich.

For additional information on the SAFE awards, please visit


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *