NAHB Members Dominate Energy Awards

Filed in Design, Environment, IBS by on November 7, 2016 0 Comments

DOE logoThe Department of Energy selected its Housing Innovation Award winners during a late-September celebration in Frisco, Texas — and 27 of the 39 winners are NAHB members.

It’s another example of how members of the NAHB Federation are leading the way in sustainable building practices, said Sustainability & Green Building Subcommittee chair Matt Dobson.

“Our focus on education is certainly an important factor,” he said, pointing to the soon-to-be-launched updates to the Certified Green Professional curriculum and the annual High Performance Building Zone at the International Builders’ Show as two examples.

This year the association also published the 2015 edition of the ICC-ASHRAE 700 National Green Building Standard, used to certify green development, remodeling and single-family and multifamily projects.

In addition to the award, each winning home is recognized with a page on the Tour of Zero and a customized case study included on their partner profile in the Partner Locator section of the Zero Energy Ready Home website.

For many builders, the award comes after years of experimentation followed by incremental change.

“We have worked relentlessly with our architects and engineers to reduce the amount of lumber needed in our homes through advanced framing techniques and some value engineering,” said Mandalay Homes Chief Technical Officer Geoff Ferrell in a press release.

“We work with our trade partners to make sure they understand our priorities and we help them find ways to reduce waste and reuse bits that would otherwise go to the local dump. A marked reduction in the amount of material delivered to our sites is a great indicator of our efforts.”

NAHB member winners include:

Innovation in Affordable Homes     

  • Clifton View Homes Inc., Coupeville, Wash.

Innovation in Multifamily Homes

  • Grand Winner (tie): Revive Properties and Philgreen Construction, Fort Collins, Colo.; Thrive Home Builders, Denver

Innovation in Production Homes

  • Grand Winner: Mandalay Homes, Phoenix
  • Greenhill Contracting, Esopus, N.Y.
  • Revive Properties and Philgreen Construction, Fort Collins, Colo.
  • Thrive Home Builders, Denver

Innovation in Custom Homes

  • Grand Winner: Imery Group, Athens, Ga.
  • Grand Winner: Dwell Development, Seattle
  • Addison Homes, Greer, S.C.
  • Amaris Homes, Maplewood, Minn.
  • Charis Homes, North Canton, Ohio
  • E2 Homes LLC, Winter Park, Fla
  • Greenhill Contracting, Esopus, N.Y.
  • High Performance Homes, Gettysburg, Pa.
  • Insulsteel Building Enclosures, Charleston, S.C.
  • Knaggs Construction Inc., Kearney, Neb.
  • Mantell-Hecathorn Builders, Durango, Colo.
  • TC Legend Homes, Bellingham, Wash.
  • Zero Energy Plans, Coupeville, Wash.
  • BrightLeaf Homes, Brookfield, Ill.
  • Bundle Design Studio, Bellingham, Wash.
  • DP Construction, Prattville, Ala.
  • Element Design | Build, Henderson, Nev.
  • Garbett Homes, Salt Lake City
  • Heath E Community Enterprise of Virginia, Williamsburg, Va.
  • Lifestyle Homes, Inc., West Melbourne, Fla.

For additional information about NAHB sustainability efforts, contact Jaclyn Toole, director of sustainability & green building.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *